Revision Lessons

This year I have my first Year 12 General Maths class. They’re a beautiful group of kids and I’m exceptionally luck to have only 9 students which means I get heaps of time to work with each of them individually when they need it. My favourite thing about this class though is the dynamics of the students. They all get along and are comfortable asking for help both from me and each other.

Each time a formal assessment comes around I give the class at least one lesson to revise. I’ve found the most effective way to run these lessons is to rearrange the tables so they’re “conference style” and close to a whiteboard. Then we all sit around the table working on revision questions. Each time someone gets stuck they ask each other questions rather than me and if there’s more than one person having trouble someone gets up on the whiteboard to work through the question and explain the steps. In these lessons I very rarely have to step in to explain anything because as a group they can always work towards a solution (with the occasional guiding hints from me).

Yr 11

We’ve been doing this for a year and a half now and the students love it as much as I do. They get really excited when it comes time for revision and always leave the classroom commenting on how much they achieved.

Yesterday one of my students told me that she has been running mini revision sessions with her friends from other classes during their study periods. She was so excited to tell me that she set up a conference table and borrowed whiteboard markers from a nearby  teacher and they all took turns explaining questions when they got stuck. It made my day to hear her so excited about sharing a revision strategy that seems to work so well.

2 thoughts on “Revision Lessons

  1. I love revision in its various forms, but your revision process really cuts to the heart of the type of learning we want our students to develop. Math is popularly viewed as a solitary venture, but the vast majority of research in mathematics is conducted by groups of mathematicians. The advancements in modern math is often the result of collaboration and peer teaching. Revision cycles (especially the arrangement you are using with your class) give students experience with the collaborative side of mathematics and strengthens their confidence in each other.

    By the way, 9 students in a class!?!?! Lucky!

Tell me what you think

