One Good Thing

“Every day may not be good, but there is one good thing in every day”.

A few days before I started teaching in my very first teaching job ever, I found this site. I loved it so much I went out and bought a really fancy little notebook to record one good thing from every day.

I love teaching – love love love – but the first 6 months were tough. I’m at an amazing school, and I have so many supportive people around me, but I’ve only recently (3/4 of the way through my first year) felt like I have things under control. This little notebook helped keep me sane. 

Every day, no matter how tired I was, or how grumpy I was at students, I sat myself down and thought of one good thing. Some days I could have written pages – lessons went amazingly, students were excellent – other days I struggled to find something.

Gradually I stopped writing, and I’m disappointed that I didn’t keep it up. I still keep it in my top desk draw, and when I’ve had a bad day i’ll pull it out and remember that while playing softball I told students to spread out, and one girl replied with “like jam Miss?”. Or how a student came running over to me in the playground to tell me about getting 100% in his commerce assignment. I suppose now the book is helping me get through hard days in a different way.

One Good Thing helped me to shed a positive light on days that seemed terrible. The tagline of this website is right up there with Bowman Dickson‘s comment in a letter to first-year teachers that “very few things in a room full of teenagers go according to plan” – both are things that I find myself repeating on a regular basis.

One thought on “One Good Thing

  1. Great blog post! I’m going to write myself a reminder note to do that when I start teaching. Actually I’ve done that before just not teaching related, it really does help, especially during times of your life which are difficult. Thanks for the reminder!

Tell me what you think

